Festival Cornerstones – Theresienstadt Composers, Theresienstadt, Prague

THERESIENSTADT COMPOSERS: Viktor Ullmann (1898–1942), Gideon Klein (1919–1945), Hans Krása (1899–1944) and Pavel Haas (1899–1944) will always remain united by the place where they awaited deportation to an extermination camp, but were still allowed to compose. The concentration camp in Theresienstadt was that place. Musicologists do not hesitate to speak highly of their works and appreciate them as highly distinct music, which may, however, sound rather sporadic in a live performance.

PRAGUE: A centre of music with remarkable tradition having all it takes to be the best venue of the Eternal Hope festival. A venue where a number of outstanding artists were active. Hans Krása introduced his Opus No. 1 in Prague in 1921. Gideon Klein was a student of Alois Hába. Viktor Ullmann was active (1919-1927) in the same institution as Gustav Mahler.

TEREZÍN: An impregnable fortress for 5,000 soldiers used as a concentration camp by the Nazis for over 60,000 Jews; Theresienstadt was not equipped with extermination technology (to kill people and burn dead bodies). In the few spare moments, amidst permanent degradation, within the walls of a prison, and at gunpoint of the guards, it was still possible to experience short spans of classical music concerts and opera performances. Consequently, the composers wrote as much material as possible, knowing the end was near. Theresienstadt is a symbol of a place where the music for the future was created within a nearly tangible presence of death.

Festival partners

Organised in cooperation with the National Theatre within Musica Non Grata, with a donation from the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in Prague.

Musica non grata

General Partner



Ministerstvo kultury ČR
Státní fond kultury


Městská část Praha 1

Media partners


Media partners

Partner of the concert on 11.11.


Under the Auspices of:

Minister of Regional Development, 
Mrs. Klára Dostálová
Minister of Culture,
Mr. Lubomír Zaorálek
Poslanecká sněmovna Parlamentu České republiky
President of the Chamber of Deputies, Parliament of the Czech republic, 
Mr. Radek Vondráček
Senát Parlamentu České republiky
předseda Senátu Parlamentu ČR, pan Miloš Vystrčil
President of the Senate, Parliament of the Czech republic, 
Mr. Miloš Vystrčil
German Ambassador to the Czech Republic, 
Dr . Christoph Israng
Ustavni soud
President of the Constitutional Court of the Czech republic, 
Mr. Pavel Rychetský
Governor of the Ústí nad Labem Region,
Mr. Jan Schiller
ministryně pro místní rozvoj, paní Klára Dostálová
Federace Židovských obcí v ČR.
Federace Židovských obcí v ČR

Partner of the performance on 28.11.


Deputy Prime Minister for Digitisation and Minister of Regional Development, Mr. Ivan Bartoš
Minister of Culture, Mr Martin Baxa
President of the Senate of the Parliament of the Czech Republic, Mr. Miloš Vystrčil
© 2022 Foundation festival EVERLASTING HOPE
Varšavská 714/38, Vinohrady, 120 00 Prague 2
Contact e-mail: info@vecnanadeje.org
+420 721 585 178 (Irma Mrázková, director of the festival)